Is there life after death

Given how many testimonials have been given by mediums of the existence of an after life, I am surprised so many people still resist the idea. I have always been open to the idea that we are more than our flesh and bones. But it was only an idea until 2001. I had read almost any possible book on past lives and reincarnation. This contradicted my upbringing as I came from a family of doctors and engineers who also happened to be devout Christians.

Then in 2001, I moved to the UK. And a few weeks later, my grand mother died. We were very close, but unfortunately, the life of a working mum of two young children had made it very difficult for me to visit. Especially as she was placed in a nursing home four hours away from where I lived. My mother had come to visit me in England for a week. She was in constant contact with her sister over the phone, who was keeping her informed of how my grand mother was doing, as we were all aware that her death was impending.

Then one morning, I woke up having made a strange dream. My grand mother was in that dream. She came to me and said “Darling I am going. It’s my time to go. I am very happy. Don’t be sad.” Then she sang me a lullaby that she used to sing to me as a child, the numerous times where she came to look after me, my sister and my brother. I said “Wait, Mamie. Don’t go yet” I had so many questions to ask her but she floated away and waved and kept on saying “Don’t be sad”. That morning, my aunt called to say that my grand mother was found dead in her bed. It was only a dream, you might say. But the fascinating thing was that my sister, who lived thousand miles away in Boston had the same dream as I had. And I remembered that she was in my dream as well.

A year later, I woke up in the middle of the night to go to the toilet, when I heard my little girl, who was four years old talking in her sleep. I went into her room and saw that she was wide awake and when I turned my head to look at what she was talking to, I saw a bright light. I went back to bed, told my boyfriend about it, then went back to sleep and forgot all about it. It felt like a dream. When I talked to the grand mother of my children in their Dad’s side three weeks later, she told me that this incident happened at the precise moment her own mum had died. My daughter was very fond of her great grand mother. It seems that she had come to day good bye to my little girl the way my grand mother had a year before. Only children are much more open to non physical beings in their early years. My son was gutted that his great grand mother had not visited him as well but I knew why. He was eight years old. At that age, children have been in school so many years that their intuitive side has been crushed by the huge emphasis on the “real”. Their ability to see invisible people has shut down.

I have read in numerous books written by mediums how people at the time they die go to say goodbye to their loved ones. Most people cannot hear or see them, mostly because we live in an extremely materialistic world, but also because at the time of death of a loved one, we are wrapped on our grief and this grief creates like a cloud around us which prevents us from hearing or feeling their presence. And yet how much comfort would we get from knowing that they are here, close to us and willing to comfort us about how happy they are?

In fact, although I was sad that my grand mother died, I felt incredibly blessed that she had taken the trouble to tell me how happy she was to go and finally give me that proof that I so much needed and had sought. It certainly softened the edges of my grief. Even today, her death feels magic.

And that’s what I wish you to experience, when you lose a loved one. Or if you haven’t, please consider going to a reputable medium to get this comfort.

Blessings

Ange de Lumiere

5 thoughts on “Is there life after death

  1. Sharon Rawlette

    Thank you for sharing this story! There’s so much more to the world than most of us are willing to accept. And while some of it can be difficult to face, there are experiences like this that can be truly comforting. I think the work you’re starting on this blog is very important. Keep it up!

    Reply
    1. thesoulawakener Post author

      Thank you, Sharon. I much appreciate your opinion. You have a lovely blog yourself which I have only just browsed but promised myself to explore more in depth when I have a quiet moment. Right now, however, I am bracing myself for another visit to see my Dad. On Friday, I shall fly to Paris, my birth city, and enjoy what are going to be the last hours in his presence. If I am lucky, I will be granted another visit. If I am not, I rest in the knowledge that “God”, the “Universe”, the “force” and my father know what is right for him and when it is his time to go.

      Reply
  2. Jean Huang Photography - Los Angeles Custom Portraiture and Fine Art Photographer

    Ange,

    Nice post!

    I remember hearing “conversation-like sounds” that I knew was not a simple background noise growing up as a kid. I even told some adults at the time. Obviously, no one was able to provide insight.

    I hope that I have not completely lost the ability to be connected, especially after my loved ones have passed.

    Keep up the great work exploring in this subject area!

    Jean

    Reply
    1. thesoulawakener Post author

      This ability is never lost. We are all born with it. My theory is that when we grow up and start school, rationality is drummed into our heads and we lose the ability to use this gift. A little bit like a muscle that would never be used. It’s there. Luckily it can be flexed and brought back to life whenever one desires so. It’s called intuition. And like any muscle, it will only work well if you use it. At first, it’s tentative like when a child learns to walk, and the hardest part is to trust that it’s not our imagination.

      Thank you for your comment Jean. It’s a pleasure to see you here. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: A robin | We are all going to die one day

Leave a comment